USA Wrestling

Feb 14 USA Wrestling Man of the Year award to be named in honor of Myron Roderick

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | Feb. 14, 2012, 12:18 p.m. (ET)
USA Wrestling, the national governing body for wrestling in the United States, has dedicated its annual Man of the Year Award in memory of the late wrestling legend Myron Roderick.

USA Wrestling Executive Director Rich Bender announced this recognition during a special memorial dinner held in Roderick's honor at his alma mater Oklahoma State on Saturday, Feb. 11.

Roderick passed away at the age of 77 in December 2011. Roderick was one of the most influential figures in American wrestling history, a man who made an amazing impact as an athlete, college coach, administrator and visionary. His life impacted so many people within wrestling, and his passion for the sport truly made a profound difference.

He was one of the founding fathers of USA Wrestling, as it developed from the U.S. Wrestling Federation of the late 1960s to what it has become today. From 1969 to 1974 he served as the USWF's executive director, setting the foundation for the organization which later evolved into today's USA Wrestling, the national governing body for the sport.

"Myron Roderick, by many accounts, was the father of USA Wrestling" said USA Wrestling Executive Director Rich Bender. "I can't think of a more fitting award than our highest honor to be named in Myron Roderick's memory."

USA Wrestling's Man of the Year Award was created in 1970, when Roderick served as the organization's Executive Director. In the 40 years of this special award, each of those honored have made a major impact on the sport and the organization.

The first Man of the Year was Rex Peery for 1970. The most recent Man of the Year was Mike Novogratz for 2010.

This is the third major USA Wrestling award to be named in honor of an individual. USA Wrestling's Freestyle Athlete of the Year award recognizes two-time Olympic champion John Smith. USA Wrestling's Freestyle Coach of the Year award recognizes Olympic champion and past USA Wrestling President Terry McCann.


2010 - Mike Novogratz
2009 - Greg Strobel
2008 - Sonny Greenhalgh
2007 - Van Stokes
2006 - Steve Silver
2005 - Al Bevilacqua
2004 - Jeff Levitetz
2003 - Set Agonian
2002 - Al Kastl
2001 - James Ravannack
2000 - Rulon Gardner
1999 - Duane Morgan
1998 - Scott Beck
1997 - Rick Tucci
1996 - Dave Schultz
1995 - Leroy Evans
1994 - James E. Scherr
1993 - Arthur J. Martori
1992 - Bruce Baumgartner
1990 - Eugene Barone
1989 - John Vaughan
1987 - Dave Rudrud
1986 - Jeff Blatnick
1985 - Dr. Dan Gould
1984 - Gary Thompson
1983 - Don Sondgeroth
1982 - Frank Rader
1981 - John Roberts
1980 - Rick Bay
1979 - Ben Bennett
1978 - Werner Holzer
1977 - Vince Zuaro
1976 - Ken Kraft
1974-75 - Russ Hellickson
1973 - Jack Stanbro
1972 - Melvin Jones
1971 - Bud Linholm
1970 - Rex Peery