USA Wrestling

Jun 01 Paul Tellgren tops list of Greco-Roman champions at University Nationals

By Craig Sesker USA Wrestling | June 01, 2012, 10:30 a.m. (ET)
AKRON, Ohio -- Paul Tellgren has won his share of All-American honors in USA Wrestling events.

But the first-place stop sign is one award that has eluded him.

That changed on Friday when Tellgren outlasted Alan Waters in three periods to win a University Nationals Greco-Roman title at the University of Akron Field House.

Tellgren downed Waters 2-3, 1-0, 1-0 in the finals at 60 kg/132 lbs.

"I've been second just about everywhere" Tellgren said. "I was second at the World Team Trials last year and I was second here at University Nationals. I was third at the Olympic Trials this year. I was always runner-up or third, and always had to fight back. This feels so incredible to win a title. I finally got first place. It feels great."

The finalists at the seven Olympic weight classes qualified for the 2012 University World Team Trials on Aug. 17-18 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

2012 Olympic Trials runner-up Max Nowry repeated as University Nationals champion at 55 kg/121 lbs. Nowry beat his two opponents by a combined 25-0 margin in the round-robin competition in his weight class.

Tellgren and Nowry may meet at the Trials as Tellgren said he likely will drop down to 55 kilos for the University World Team Trials.

Kendrick Sanders, third in the Olympic Team Trials at 66 kg/145.5 lbs., bumped up to 79 kg/174 lbs. and won a title on Friday.

"I started off sluggish and gave up some points" said Sanders, who was named Outstanding Wrestler. "I had a hamstring injury and I didn't get into this tournament until the last minute. I got stronger as this tournament went along. I've worked hard this year and I've made great strides with my wrestling."

Tanner Andrews downed Bo Beckman 2-1, 6-0 in the finals at 74 kg/163 lbs. Beckman won this event at 66 kg last year and Andrews won at 70 kg.

Former North Carolina-Greensboro wrestlers Eric Chandler and Caylor Williams both won titles. Chandler beat Thrasher Porcher 2-0, 0-2, 1-0 in the finals at 63 kg/138.75 lbs. Williams downed Junior World Team member Marcus Finau 0-1, 1-0, 6-0 in the finals at 96 kg/211.5 lbs.

Mark Stenberg repeated as champion at 84 kg/185 lbs. 2011 Junior World bronze medalist Toby Erickson won the University Nationals title at 120 kg/264.5 lbs.

Nick Alvarez won the crown at 66 kg/145.5 lbs. and Bryce Saddoris won at 70 kg/154.25 lbs.


55 kg/121 lbs.
Round robin
1st place - Max Nowry (New York AC/USOEC)
2nd place - David Rivera of UPRA
Round 1 - Max Nowry (NYAC/USOEC) won by tech. fall over Michael Cooker (Middle), 6-0, 7-0
Round 2 - Max Nowry (NYAC/USOEC) dec. David Rivera (UPRA), 5-0, 7-0

60 kg/132 lbs.
Paul Tellgren (Minnesota Storm) dec. Alan Waters (Missouri Wrestling Foundation), 2-3, 1-0, 1-0

63 kg/138.75 lbs.
Eric Chandler (YES Wrestling) dec. Thrasher Porcher (USOEC), 2-0, 0-2, 1-0

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
Nick Alvarez (USOEC) pinned Daniel Owebey (North Carolina Pembroke), 3-0, 1:12

70 kg/154.25 lbs.
Bryce Saddoris (Marines) dec. Joey Kubica (Unattached), 3-0, 2-0

74 kg/163 lbs.
Tanner Andrews (USOEC) dec. Bo Beckman (New York AC), 2-1, 6-0

79 kg/174 lbs.
Kendrick Sanders (New York AC) dec. John Stefanowicz (Marines), 3-0, 1-0

84 kg/185 lbs.
Mark Stenberg (New York AC) dec. Lee Wildes (USOEC), 5-0, 1-0

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
Caylor Williams (YES Wrestling) dec. Marcus Finau (New York AC), 0-1, 1-0, 6-0

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
Toby Erickson (New York AC) dec. Anthony Edgren (UWW), 2-0, 1-0