USA Wrestling

Dec 30 FLASH: Iowa captures Midlands title with three champions and four runners-up

Dec. 30, 2013, 11:48 p.m. (ET)
EVANSTON, Ill. – With a dominant effort throughout the lineup, the University of Iowa captured the team title at the 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championships on Monday night.

The Hawkeyes set the new record for team points in the tournament with 187.5 points, breaking the record it set back in 2007 with 185 points.

Winning titles for the Hawkeyes were Thomas Gilman (125), Derek St. John (158) and Mike Evans (174).

Gilman defeated Jarrod Garnett, the former Virginia Tech star who is now coaching at Bucknell, 6-1 in the finals. Gilman entered with a No. 4 seed, while Garnett came in at No. 2 seed.

Gilman also had one of the biggest wins of the event in the semifinals, when he also knocked off top seed and returning NCAA champion Jesse Delgado of Illinois, 3-1.

Defending NCAA champion St. John was in control throughout on the way to a 9-3 victory over Taylor Walsh of Indiana in the final.

Evans put away Columbia’s Shane Hughes in the first period with a fall in 2:14.

One of the shocking results in the finals came at 133 pounds, where Northern Iowa’s Joe Colon pinned 2013 NCAA runner-up Tony Ramos of Iowa at the 2:37 mark. Colon was named the Dan Gable Outstanding Wrestler and the Champion of Champions, knocking off the top two ranked athletes in his weight class.

Edinboro’s NCAA runner-up Mitchell Port won the 141-pound crown, stopping Stephen Rodrigues of Michigan by major decision, 11-2.

It was a big night for Maryland’s big men, as Jimmy Sheptock (184) and Christian Boley (197) came home with titles.

Sheptock scored a takedown in sudden victory overtime to stop Ethan Lofthouse of Iowa, 3-1. Boley, who trailed early, came on strong for a 9-5 decision over Braden Atwood of Purdue.

True freshman Adam Coon of Michigan continues his impressive wrestling, defeating Iowa’s Bobby Telford in the heavyweight finals, 3-2. Coon was also champion at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational earlier this season.

Lehigh brought home a champion at 149 pounds, when Mitchell Minotti won a tight match with a last second takedown to stop Eric Grajales of Michigan, 5-4 in overtime.

North Dakota State had its first Midlands champion, as top seed Steven Monk stopped Nick Moore of Iowa, 4-2 at 165 pounds.

Iowa closed out the team race early, putting seven in the championship finals with a strong semifinal round. Only two other schools were able to place more than one in the finals, with Michigan and Maryland boasting two finalists.

In addition to Jesse Delgado’s semifinal loss, three other No. 1 seeds fell in the semis. Northern Iowa’s Colon defeated No. 1 A.J. Schopp of Edinboro, 3-0 in the semis at 133. Michigan’s Grajales defeated No. 1 Jason Tsirtsis of Northwestern, 6-3 at 149. Also at 197, Purdue’s Atwood defeated No. 1 Mario Gonzalez of Illinois by default.

The finals were broadcast live on the Big Ten Network.

At Evanston, Ill., Dec. 30

125 pounds

1st - Thomas Gilman (Iowa) dec. Jarrod Garnett (Bison WC), 6-1
3rd – Jesse Delgado (Illinois) dec. Dylan Peters (UNI), 6-5
5th – Sean Boyle (Michigan) med. fft. over Cory Clark (Iowa)
7th – Robert Deutsch (Rider) dec. Conor Youtsey (Michigan), 4-1

133 pounds
1st – Joe Colon (Northern Iowa) pin Tony Ramos (Iowa), 2:37
3rd – A.J. Schopp (Edinboro) dec. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin), 3-0
5th – Mason Beckman (Lehigh) dec. Alan Waters (unattached-Missouri), 5-2, t.b.
7th – Devon Lotito (Cal Poly) dec. Rossi Bruno (Michigan), 5-3

141 pounds
1st – Mitchell Port (Edinboro) maj. dec. Steven Rodrigues (Illinois), 11-2
3rd – Josh Dziewa (Iowa) dec. Richard Durso (Franklin and Marshall), 3-1
5th – Ethan Raley (Indiana) dec. Pat Greco (Northwestern), 5-2
7th – Ryan Fillingame (unattached-Adams St) dec. Tyler Argue (Northern Illinois), 8-6

149 pounds
1st – Mitchell Minotti (Lehigh) dec. Eric Grajales (Michigan), 5-4, t.b.1
3rd – Brandon Sorensen (unattached-Iowa) dec. Brody Grothus (Iowa), 4-2
5th – Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern) maj. dec. Blake Ruolo (unattached – George Mason), 18-4
7th – Chad Walsh (unattached-Rider) dec. Rylan Lubeck (Wisconsin), 5-1

157 pounds
1st – Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Taylor Walsh (Indiana), 9-3
3rd – John Greisheimer (Edinboro) dec. Isaiah Martinez (unattached-Illinois), 9-6
5th –Nick Brascetta (unattached-Virginia Tech) dec. Isaac Jordan (Wisconsin), 3-1
7th – Zac Brunson (Illinois) dec. Chad Ryan (Columbia), 8-6, 1 TB

165 pounds
1st – Steven Monk (ND State) dec. Nick Moore (Iowa), 4-2
3rd – Taylor Massa (unattached-Michigan) dec. Pierce Harger (Northwestern), 5-3
5th – Cooper Moore (Northern Iowa) maj. dec. Josh Houldsworth (Columbia), 8-0
7th – Ryan LeBlanc (Indiana) dec. Chad Lowman (Grand View), 7-0

174 pounds
1st – Mike Evans (Iowa) pin Shane Hughes (Columbia), 2:14
3rd – Hayden Zillmer (ND State) dec. Brock Gutches (Southern Oregon), 2-1, tb 1
5th – Zach Epperly (unattached-Virginia Tech) dec. Scott Liegel (Wisconsin), 7-5
7th – Alex Meyer (Iowa) pin Monte Schmalhaus (Utah Valley), 2:54

184 pounds
1st – Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland) dec. Ethan Lofthouse (Iowa), 3-1, s.v.
3rd – Nate Brown (unattached – Lehigh) dec. Ophir Bernstein (Brown), 17-2
5th – Keegan Mueller (D1 Fit) med. forfeit Sam Brooks (Iowa)
7th – Kurt Julson (ND State) med. forfeit Vic Avery (Edinboro)

197 pounds
1st – Christian Boley (Maryland) dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 9-5
3rd – Nathan Burak (unattached – Iowa) dec. John Bolich (Lehigh), 3-1
5th – Alex Polizzi (Northwestern) med. forfeit Mario Gonzalez (Illinois)
7th – Josef Rau (Minnesota Storm) med. forfeit Donald McNeil (Rider)

285 pounds
1st – Adam Coon (Michigan) dec. Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-2
3rd – J.T. Felix (Boise State) dec. Steve Dwyer (Beebe), 6-4
5th – Ernest James (Edinboro) med. forfeit Spencer Myers (Maryland)
7th – Adam Fager (Utah Valley) med. forfeit Chris Lopez (Illinois)

Dan Gable Outstanding Wrestler - Joe Colon (Northern Iowa), 133 lbs.
Champion of Champions – Joe Colon (Northern Iowa), 133 lbs.
Highest Individual Point Scorer – Mike Evans (Iowa), 29 pts.

Top Ten Team Standings
1. Iowa, 187.5
2. Edinboro, 102.5
3. Michigan, 84
4. Illinois, 83
5. Northern Iowa, 70.5
6. Maryland, 68.5
7. Northwestern, 63.5
8. Wisconsin, 62.5
9. Lehigh, 60.5
10. Indiana, 57.5